Virginia Tech® home

Topical Research Workshops

Spring 2024

banner for research workshops

Securing the Road Ahead: Exploring Cybersecurity and Human Factors in Heavy-Duty Vehicles

Date: TBD 
Time: TBD
Location: Virtual 
Organizers: Xiaojian Jin (jin224@vt.edu), Mark Zachos

In this 90-min workshop, we will delve into the dynamic landscape of heavy-duty vehicle cybersecurity, exploring design principles, human-centric considerations, and strategies to mitigate human errors. Cybersecurity industry experts, fleet operators, regulatory bodies, and autonomous technology developers will share invaluable insights. This interactive session aims to foster collaboration, addressing key challenges, and shaping the future of secure heavy-duty vehicle operations.

Use & Abuse of Personal Information: An OSINT Tool supporting Multi-Domain Academic Research

Date: April 10, 2024 
Time: 9 a.m. - 11 a.m.
Location: 1311 Research Center Drive, Blacksburg VA 24060 
Organizers: Alan Michaels (ajm@vt.edu), Madison Boswell (maboswell@vt.edu)
Register Here

AI for Social Good: Empowering Youth to Be Resilient Against Cybergrooming 

Date: April 12, 2024 
Time: 9:30 a.m. - 2 p.m.
Location: Faculty meeting room in Gilbert, Blacksburg Campus
Organizers: Jin-Hee Cho (jicho@vt.edu), Lifu Huang (lifuh@vt.edu), and Sang Won Lee (sangwonlee@vt.edu) 
Register Here

Secure & Trustworthy Data & Technology 

Date: April 26, 2024 
Time: TBD
Location: 310 Kelly Hall, Blacksburg, VA 24061
Organizers: Gretchen Matthews (gmatthews@vt.edu), Bimal Viswanath (vbimal@vt.edu)
Register Here

Cyber-Resilience of the Power Grid

Date: April 30, 2024 
Time:  8:30 a.m. - 1 p.m.
Location: 310 Kelly Hall, Blacksburg, VA 24061
Organizers: Chen-Ching Liu (ccliu@vt.edu)
Register Here

Privacy-Preserving and Trustworthy Ubiquitous Computing: Challenges and Countermeasures

Date: May 3, 2024 
Time: 9:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.
Location: Hybrid (Virginia Tech Blacksburg Campus & Zoom)
Organizers:  Thang Hoang (thanghoang@vt.edu)
Register Here

Quantum Networks, Distributed Computing, and Post-quantum Cryptography

Date: June 11 - 12, 2024
Time: TBD
Location: Virginia Tech, Arlington Research Center in Arlington, Virginia
Organizers: Ed Barnes (efbarnes@vt.edu), Jason LeGrow (jlegrow@vt.edu)